Rivers: Cruising Through a Late-Summer Weekend

I have a love-hate relationship with weekends. It’s great to know that my email inbox will fill at a slower rate, that I’ll get fewer client phone calls, that I’ll have a chance to catch up on all the work that didn’t get done during the “regular” work week (as if there’s such a thing, these days).

But — and as for most people — my weekend is only 48 hours long. In those 48 hours, I need to decide what I’m going to do, how I’m going to relax, who I’m going to see… and what won’t make the cut.

Whine, whine, whine… But this past weekend, I decided to go into it with at least three making goals. Here’s my visual prompt, to keep me honest:

CFLV1550-01

I wanted to finish the quilted Night Star pillow that’s been languishing on the back of the chair in my bedroom, like my grandmother’s old afghans. I wanted to make more progress toward the toe of my Wooly Tiger Hiking Socks. And I wanted to finish the first 2.5″ inches of button band/shawl collar on my Slade Cardigan, so I could start on the buttonholes. (The button bands and collar will eventually be 6″ wide.)

The ideas was, if I had something to look at, as a reminder, I’d get the work done. And I did! Here’s some proof:

CFLV1572-01

Time to start the button holes for the cardigan. (Note: I can see that the yarn looks like different colors. Camera operator error.)

CFLV1559-01

And the pillow is done! Here’s the back side, just for reference:

CFLV1560-01

And I made good progress on my socks (not pictured here).

All in all, a happily productive weekend, from a knitting and sewing perspective. I even squeezed in some catch-up work on client projects, hiked along Lake Washington, watched a movie and had some lovely meals.

Oh! And some yarn came in the mail! Wonderful Hazel Knits yarn, from Wendee’s Summer Knotty-Naughty/Loose Ends sale. I scored a sweater’s worth of Cadence in Silhouette (pattern TBD) and enough Artisan Sock in Sedge for two pairs of socks. Happy days!

CFLV1544-01

2 thoughts on “Rivers: Cruising Through a Late-Summer Weekend

Leave a comment